top of page

Twenty F%$#CKING Eight, am I right?

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

Or should I call it my quarter life crisis... everyone says that the older you get the wiser you get right? But no one talks about when you become wiser how it changes the way you perceive the world and the way you look at life. The best part is that I am going to start here and go back in time to share my story up until this point. It's pretty bizarre if you ask me how I ended up here.

Bad things usually happen in 3 so at least I know I am safe for now. I will explain this in a bit. Right before my 28th birthday I was having a really difficult time keeping it together. I previously owned a small custom cake business for about 5 years give or take. I put myself last behind my business, my friends, my family, and clearly everything else. I wanted to be successful… SUCCESS FULL. I didn’t care what I needed to do to get myself there and clearly I created a lot of success in my business but it was no where near being successful. What I have learned is that in order to truly be successful I need to have balance or should I say harmony throughout all the Pilars in my life. Physically, mentally, romantically, financially, socially, well you get the point. I missed the whole point. I wanted to be the best and I didn’t care what I did to myself to get there.

Bad things come in three’s… a month before my 28th birthday I broke my foot, shut down my business, and my sweet grandpa passed away. I was already dealing with the worst burn out and health issues leading up to this time. It was harsh, and I certainly believe that the universe creates a heroes journey path for those that go beyond the norm. A few months before I retired (LOL) it was a challenging time. I shared a commercial kitchen with 5 other businesses and the square footage of this place I would say was about 1000 sq. feet. We didn’t all work at the same time but it was quite difficult when there was about 3 businesses going on at once. There was a two-week period when the walk in refrigerator wasn’t working and the a/c blew out in the middle of the summer in LA. During this time my foot was broken and I was working 12-18 hr days with no assistants helping me. I remember calling my mom telling her “This is it, I am DONE!"


1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page